Stuff From Lo – The Return – Bands A and B

So I’ve has another delivery from Lo with some bands of the obscure variety to happily curate. Off we go ….. (Probably not on Spotify) and Lo must have something to do with this channel on Youtube or I’m a Dutch man. https://www.youtube.com/@lostbutnotforgotten80s

Abstractions – Halloween

From 1985 and on the tiny US label Starstruck Records ( from Indianapolis) Abba harmonies and a clarinet solo. Lead by Joyce Martin (who was in Punk bands The Obvious and Lip Service) Atmospheric but not too dark.

Adventures In Paradise – You’ll Never Know (Extended)

Synthy Soft Rock from 1984 from this Canadian studio project that included Doug Wong , Francie Hill (keyboards) and musician Phil Krawczuk with lead vocals from US producer Susan Hamilton (RIP)

Could be considered a forgotten 80”s gem.

Albert Böhne – Come Back (Never Ending Power Dance Mix)

From 1988 and from German synthesist Böhne, really like this !! Baritone lead and a very pleasant female counterpoint vocal. Minimal enough to be a bit of a Coldwave Classic. Quite long at 9 minutes dead.

Alexander Platz – Le Silence Des Voeux

French New Wave from 1984 with a bit of a Goth style and weird lead vocal as the singer tries to sing in English. Quirky and catchy.

Alive 55 – Mystic Dream

From 1986 and Mike Dennett’s Alive 55 and the only vinyl release. Recorded at Rod Gammons Soundstudio on the Isle Of Wight. Synthpop with a bits of orchestral hits and broken glass. Getting a bit of West Coast New Wave with the layered vocals and guitar.

All Good Children – Tonight

From 1984 and a bit New Order with a drum machine and jangly guitar. Not on Discogs but info from a Youtube post. Thin Vocal & Lyrics: Philip Pilgrim Lead Guitar: Doug MacDonald, Bass & Drum Programming: Philip Pilgrim

Recorded on a Fostex 4 track at Windcrest Terrace, Halifax in Doug, Darlene and Cathy’s apartment. Doug used a cool 60’s Red F-holed Epiphone and I used my old Kent F-hole. I think drums were on a Boss Dr Rhythm.

Yep, I got the Ride similarities too. (And I may have posted this before in a previous Lo Collection, sorry!)

Big City – You And I

From 1987 and female lead on this slice of Rocky New Wave from the L.A. A 3 piece of Deborah Galli – Vocals and guitars, Kevin E Shepherd – bass and vocals and Lenny Boizin – guitars and vocals. With added drums from Kim Edmondson and keyboards from Mike Chanslor. Inoffensive.

Big New Day – There Is A Place

Canadian synthpop from 1988. Based out of Montreal and Pittsburgh. They released a self funded and self titled album on CD of this was thr opening track. Full o digital chimes and bright strings, a weird lead vocal and an underwhelming drum machine pattern.

Bino – Dream (For My Sake) / Tonight

From 1981 and both sides of the only ever release by London Post Punk band, Bino. Bowie inspired and released on the tiny independent label Upper Class Records. Song written by Adam Seigel/Simpson/Woolliscroft/Webster/Dearden.

The A-side has sequencer amongst the regular instruments. Saxophone and guitars blend nicely in with the synths, a bit of Glam. It was produced by Peter Woolliscroft.

Another forgotten New Wave gem. Pick of all the tracks!!!

Bleulight – I Say We Don’t Fight / She’ll Never Know

US synthpop from 1989, Erasure influenced. On the Beverly Hills label – Metro-Cine Entertainment, Inc. Again another full mini album with no singles – these are 2 tracks off the album. Darren Bowls is the vocalist with Christopher Nelson on synths and Paul Schell on synths and backing vocals. Again very independently produced with a bit of an ear for a melody.

Blue On Shock – Heaven Won Here

From ’87 and some synth with some strong female vocals and brass section. The first track reminds me of early Simple Minds. On the Scottish label Trigger Happy Records (Fife)

Blue – Riders On The Storm

A synthpop cover of The Doors classic, soundimg a bit Frankie Goes… in places. From 1986 and from the compilation “The Curse Of Ugly” and that is all I have…

Boyzone – Blueprints

From 1984 and not THE Boyzone (as you can tell) Eurosynth from a tiny UK label called Marathon Records. A duo of Jenkins and Mark O’Donoughue. Big in France and a bit Duran!

Bully Boy – I Don’t Remember

From 1985 and on Eagle Records, listened to too much Billy Idol. Another debut (and only) LP from the US (Californian) trio. A six piece !!!!

  • Drum Programming – James Hobson
  • Keyboards, Synthesizer – Bruce “Mal” Malament
  • Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals – Marc Edelson
  • Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar – Mike Sheetz
  • Lead Vocals – Gene Atkins
  • Rhythm Guitar – Curtis Gropp

The weird vocalist award goes to these guys!

https://qiwi.gg/file/w2dx8162-LosAndBs

https://store2.gofile.io/download/direct/579b6e8c-6963-4e57-8561-6808426ba864/Lo’s And B’s.zip

https://pixeldrain.com/u/S7Ci8TAA

https://krakenfiles.com/view/YTp041oq3n/file.html

10 thoughts on “Stuff From Lo – The Return – Bands A and B”

  1. Like Mike said, I am just a music fan and my son and I have been sorting though 4000 songs this fellow (Lost) has put up on Youtube…. to me the best rare music channel on Youtube. It makes for a great taster chocolate samplier for some stuff I had never heard of for the most part. My son turned me on to them as he had sent me some of their music first and I thought it good enough to send to DJ Jed “to sample”. It is all lo-fi junk quality, but good enough to give a person an ideal of some rarer lost songs. Most cost a fortune, some will never been put up for sale.

    I still over 2000 songs to sort through, and the sad part (and my son) is that a lot of great song will be skipped because our music taste are not your taste, especially some of the punk and darker wave get skipped. I advise you view Lost’s youtube page yourself. I will say it again, this fellow is the best youtube channel I have ever found. I am just a happy sneak thief.

    1. Lo & behold deep down from the wishing well, that’s some serious hidden _____! Appreciate you & of course Djjedredy defining and sharing these goods here💯👍

      Reminds me of a few places I used to tap into about 25 years ago. Amazing! Thanks to all!

  2. I saw one of the songs listed on Discog for over a $1000 (w/ shipping)…. yeah, some of his songs were that rare. I had probable only a dozen of the songs he offered, often if I had the song, it was not his mix of the song that was only released on a particular one off vinyl release. Example: he had version of a Fatal Charm song, but this was a early (leaner instruments) version I had never heard. Might be fun for a collector to take note of his music and see if they could find it at their local record shop at a bargain price.

  3. P.S. Thanks DJ Jed for taking on the task of sorting through some songs that have little to no information about them on the net. My part was the easy part, it has to be very difficult to further refine info on groups that are more smoke than reality now days. I can’t describe music worth a hoot, all I know is “it sounds good to me”… You have a way with words… and well….thanks for giving these rare tracks a wider audience.

  4. In an odd moment of serendipity, the photo in the post made me remember that I have, or had, that Bino 7″.

    Gonna look in the basement over the weekend.

  5. Oh, I have got a surprise for Djjedredy (despite the quality) I’ll take them anyhow – regardless!

    I’ll find & send over (Today or Tomorrow)!

  6. Little factoid: Mark (lead singer of Boyzone) was later the manager of Modern Romance. They had a decent hit in Europe called “Tears”.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.