The Housemartins – Five Get Over Excited (Vinyl E.P.)

So Hull beat my beloved Bury FC in the F.A. Cup yesterday. “2 Nil to the Referee” were the chants as the hailstones fell (the final score was Bury 1 – Hull City – 3) So a debut on this blog by The Housemartins from 1987 and this 4 track E.P. (and not a synth or remix in sight) It’s the one with the “Fun, Fun, Fun” as the lead track as Paul Heaton’s voice provides the gloss over their signature jangle; especially on the 2 acoustic tracks, with a great version of the gospel song “So Glad” and the haunting “Rebel Without The Airplay”

Go! Discs ‎– GODX 18house5cov

A1 Five Get Over Excited 2:41
A2 So Glad 2:09
B1 Hopelessly Devoted To Them 2:10
B2 Rebel Without The Airplay 3:40

The Teardrop Explodes – Tiny Children (12″)

So some of my own stuff now and returning to 1982 with this synth ballad from The Teardrop Explodes, minimal but effective. It’s almost got Christmassy/ Festive feel to it. The extra tracks are “Rachael Built A Steamboat” alternative madness and the 9 min + epic “Sleeping Gas” with Cope “off” on one. Recorded live at Club ZOO, Liverpool, December 22nd, 1981. Has to be heard to be believed!! I wish I had caught them live!


Mercury ‎– TEAR 712 teardropcov

A1 Tiny Children
A2 Rachael Built A Steamboat
B Sleeping Gas (Live)

David Bowie – Tonight (US 12″)

Still can’t believe it happened…

So Bowie does some gentle reggae with backing vocals from Tina Turner.  This is very different to the live version (See Vid) where it is more of a duet, I prefer this version it’s more subtle without Tina Turner’s loud voice wailing. Steve Thompson & Michael Barbiero are at the controls for the mixes. Love the bass on “Tumble And Twirl” which is quite synthy and very funky. Both tracks were co-written with Iggy Pop, I nice little rarity from Mike B.


EMI America ‎– V-7846-1/2bowietonight

A Tonight (Vocal Dance Mix) 4:29
B1 Tumble And Twirl (Extended Dance Mix) 5:03
B2 Tonight (Dub Mix) 4:18

Real Life – God Tonight (US 12″)

More synthpop from Australian’s Real Life sounding that they’ve listened to some New Order before releasing this in 1990. (Via Opportunities by the Pet Shop Boys) A plethora of mixes to compare, I’m liking the “Power Dub” because of the Pet Shop Boys comparison. Early Acid House fans will appreciate the “303 Dub” and Tony Garcia provides a decent club mix but I think I’ve had enough orchestral stabs for one day!


Curb Records ‎– V-77053 godcov

A1 God Tonight (Extended Dance Mix) 5:13
A2 God Tonight (Power Dub Mix) 4:35
A3 God Tonight (Radio Version) 3:38
AA1 God Tonight (Miracle Mix – Garcia Club Mix) 8:29
AA2 God Tonight (Instrumental Dub) 3:55
AA3 God Tonight (303 Dub) 6:23

Frank Tovey -Luddite Joe (12″)

Another artist sadly missed, Frank Tovey (Fad Gadget) was always on the one label, Mute Records and was always a pioneering maverick.

This was off the album Snakes And Ladders and see’s him using samplers extensively. Released in 1986 it didn’t get the commercial success it deserved. The remix is by Mute stalwart, Eric Radcliffe who also gives “Small World” a sparse reinterpretation. The CD only album track “Clean This Act Up” also gets a remix by Michael Johnson.

Mute ‎– 12 MUTE 44ludditecov

A Luddite Joe (Remix) 5:23
B1 Clean This Act Up (Remix) 6:21
B2 Small World (Minimal Mix) 3:52

Real Life – Let’s Fall In Love (US 12″)


Some gentle synthpop from 1989 from Real Life (care of Mike B again) With vocals echoing the great Martin Fry, this fizzes along with the odd guitar over dub. Very Erasure in places. Tony Garcia , synth remixer extraordinaire, remixed most of the tracks.

Plenty of remixes to choose but the normal 7″ mix is a good start. The “Pop Goes…” is the most different and experimental. The bizarre “Bleeding Babies” is given a synth work over on a Dance Mix, still weird!

Curb Records ‎– CRB-10308realcov

A1 Let’s Fall In Love (Club Mix) 7:40
A2 Let’s Fall In Love (Dub Mix) 3:15
A3 Let’s Fall In Love (Radio Mix) 3:40
A4 Let’s Fall In Love (Pop Goes My Heart Mix) 5:05
B1 Let’s Fall In Love (12″ Dance Mix) 6:26
B2 Let’s Fall In Love (12″ Dub Mix) 3:45
B3 Bleeding Babies (12″ Dance Mix) 6:26

Love & Money – Candybar Express (All 12″)

So another one that passed me back in the day, Love & Money ??? From the Glasgow’s New Wave Scene(it does sound like Hipsways “Honey Thief”)  the main driving force was guitarist/vocalist James Grant and this was their debut release. From the ashes of band Friends Again it includes ex-members keyboardist Paul McGeechan , drums by Stuart Kerr (GUN , Texas) and Bobby Patterson (Set The Tone) Shep Pettibone provides all the crazy effects for the “New York” mixes and it was actually originally produced by Duran’s Andy Taylor!  It definite has an INXS sound to it, a fine piece of Dance Rock!


Mercury ‎– 884 832-1 lovemoneycov

A Candybar Express (New York Remix) 6:05
B1 Candybar Express (New York Dub) 5:05
B2 Candybar Express (Extended Mix) 5:55