heArt of Noise – Moments In Love (12″)


More ZTT stuff with this classic Art of Noise 12″, relaxing electronic music from 1985. As with most ZTT products the joy was in the covers so to have them to read whilst you listen is a passtime sadly dying out. It was marketed as the heArt of Noise too.

Reupped in a less crackly version


A1 Moments In Love (Beaten) 6:59
A2 Moments In Love (7″ Version) 4:41
B1 Beatbox (Diversion Ten) 3:58
B2 Love Beat 5:15

the passage – taboos (12″)


I loved the passage, they were my hidden band, the one you had when you were in your early teens. No one knew them, they were different and they came from Manchester. This had 124bpm written bold after the title as if a DJ would carefully mix this into some funky disco! It’s from 1981 on the legendary Cherry Red Records and has an extended version plus a bizarre,DIY dub version, full of wonky synths and echoes. Recorded loudly because I can.



Heaven 17 – Double Trouble (12″)


Having a bit of a run on this blog at mo. This is the limited edition double pack from 1987 enhanced by a couple of US club mixes from Bruce Forrest. All big sparkley drums enhanced by live bass and guitar, good remixes! For many long term fans this was the final nail in the coffin for a once completely electronic band. I don’t mind it, it’s well written and has polished production. Worth another listen.


  1. “(Big) Trouble (Extended Mix)” – 5:51
  2. “Move Out (Album Mix)” – 3:20
  3. “Trouble (U.S. Club Mix)” – 6:45
  4. “Contenders (U.S. Club Mix)” – 7:47

Depeche Mode – Little 15 (12″)


From 1988 and the last single from the “Music For The Masses” album. Only released in France and eventually the rest of Europe. No extended cut and 2 piano led instrumentals might of put a few fair weather fans off.Tracks “Star” (from the Swedish word Star , but mislabelled on the record) and Beethoven’s “Moonlight Sonata” (mistakes and all) that Gore had secretly recorded Alan Wilder performing it.


When I find it ???

  1. “Little 15” – 4:16
  2. “Stjarna” – 4:25
  3. “Moonlight Sonata No. 14” – 5:36

Blackouts – Lost Soul’s Club (Vinyl E.P.)


I’ve always loved the Wax Trax! label and if you’ve been following my blog you may have come across a few releases. Synonmous with Al Jourgensen (Rob Zombie’s Uncle!!) and all his side projects and production jobs, this was another project that involved Drummer William Rieflin and Paul and Roland Barker who later were recruited into Ministry. Weird Indie swamp rock, via new wave is what I could describe it. “Everglades” is a dubby, Bela Lugosi style, 12 min journey….fab just for that!


A Everglades 12:25
B1 Idiot 4:19
B2 Writhing 3:31


The Dice Are Rolling – A Play It Again Sam Records Sample


A very mixed bag from 1986 with this compilation from Belgium indie label, “Play It Again Sam Records” The great, The Neon Judgement, Trisomie 21 and Legendary Pink Dots and the not so great, Bollock Brothers, a;GRUMH (that’s just shouting) For Fans there are lots unreleased (*) and live tracks.

A1 The Neon Judgement – Love And Pain 4:10 *
A2 à;GRUMH… – Gena (Live) 5:53
A3 Trisomie 21 – Waiting For (New Version) 3:31
A4 The Weathermen – The Lift 3:53 *
B1 Bollock Brothers – Harley David (Live In Paris) 3:27
B2 Legendary Pink Dots – Love On A Pale Green Post Stamp (Live) 3:26 *
B3 Dole – A Day (Live) 4:20
B4 Siglo XX – Into The Dark (Studio Version) 2:52
B5 Steve Lake – Prick 3:04*


Cabaret Voltaire – Don’t Argue (Adrian Sherwood Remixes) (12″)


Unbelievably from 1987, this nearly went on the other blog ! Two Adrian Sherwood mixes of this Cold War pastiche of spies and espionage.Samples used in the song werw taken from a 1945 american propaganda movie “Your Job In Germany” directed by Frank Capra. (thanks Discogs)

From their Parlophone years it has many trademark Cabs sounds (Bill Nelson on guitar & John Robie on keyboards) However beware Girl backing vocals!! Their is a Dance side and a Dub side tho!


AWOL need to find this!

Various Artists – I Q 6 Zang Tuum Tumb Sampled (Vinyl Album)

A 1985 compilation from Trevor Horn’s ZTT label and an interesting listen it is too. With such tracks as Propaganda’s P-Machinery (enhanced by John McGeoch from Magazine’s guitar work) and 2 rare Frankie tracks it tangents off to the classical Andrew Poppy and the Torch song’s of France’s Anne Pigalle

Art of Noise – Closing
Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Disneyland
Propaganda – Femme Fatale
Anne Pigalle – Intermission
Instinct – Swamp Out
Art of Noise – Egypt
Andrew Poppy – The Object Is A Hungry Wolf (extract one)
Propaganda – P:Machinery (Beta)
Anne Pigale – Looking For Love
Art Of Noise – A Time For Fear (Who’s Afraid)
Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Born To Run (live)
Andrew Poppy – The Object Is A Hungry Wolf (extract two)



Thomas Dolby – Hot Sauce (12″)


A bit of funk tinged Dolby from 1988. Composed by legend George Clinton this is funky cover but with a small slice of the eccentric Dolby in it. Causes a bit of divide between fans, it’s Dolby in full on Americanised mode. Remixed and produced by Richard Burgess it does have that big American production. He even does a cod Mexican accent for “Salsa Picante”. Some different mixes here although on a repeat listen after all these years not one of his best moments.

A1 Hot Sauce (Extended Version) 6:56
A2 Hot Sauce (“Murder” Dub) 3:27
B1 Salsa Picante (Extended Version) 5:11
B2 Hot Sauce (7″ Remix) 3:15

NEW LINK 2017 !!!

Pending 😦

Boxcar- Freemason (You Broke The Promise) (12″)


From 1989 and some synth pop with shades of New Order from Australia’s Boxcar. With help from producer Robert Racic (who worked with Severed Heads) and a remixer Arthur Baker this is catchy as hell although with weird subject matter/lyrics (Freemasonery??) The rarer handshake mix is included.

NEW LINK 2020 (When I find it)

A1 Freemason (Shakedown Mix) 5:58
B1 Freemason (Handshake Mix) 5:48
B2 Freemason (Single Mix) 3:54