Thompson Twins – 3 Remixes – Bonus 12″ with a Greatest Hits LP


The Twins released a “Greatest Hit Compilation” in 1990 (well their record label did!) and this was a freebie 12″ with initial releases. I’ve always wondered why there wasn’t more remixes of the Twins 80’s stuff, they probably heard these and thought NO WAY!

Shep Pettibone and Mark McGuire do there best, but!

The “Bad Karma” mix seems to be using a later live version with some very weak overdubs. It’s essentially a live version.

The “Full House” mix is interesting although goes into Technotronic territory although Bailey’s vocals sit over the top over a sparse bassline and some cheap sounding keyboards..

Best less said about the megamix the better, cheesy “House” drop in samples and snippets of previous hits.

So we have come full circle with 80’s songs getting regurgitated and not in a good way!

Tomorrow let’s welcome back the 80’s!


1 – Love On Your Side (Good Karma Mix) – 7:28

2 – In The Name Of Love (Tom’s Full House Mix) – 5:55

3 – In The Name Of Love (Megamix) – 5:42

The Wolfgang Press ‎– Going South (US Promo 12″)

The final single from The Wolfgang Press from 1994, taken from the ‘Funky Little Demons’ album. Getting some top notch remixers for their swansong

A suitable tome and “farewell” song. Apollo 440 add some skittering beats and lush strings giving it an epic melancholic feel.

Sabres of Paradise (the trio Andrew Weatherall, Gary Burns, and Jagz Kooner) deconstruct the album track, “11 Years” to a paranoid instrumental.

Barry Adamson puts his film score magic on “Executioner” layering the beats and atmosphere.

Mix Of The Week !!!!!!

The “Country Mix” is super chilled with plenty of extra guitar from Toronto musician Michael Brook mixing well with the deep vocals of Michael Allen, a suitable goodbye song!


Warner Bros. Records ‎– PRO-A-7174SAM_4132

A1 Going South (@440 Mix) 8:15
A2 11 Years (Sabres Main Mix 2) 7:28
B1 Executioner (Adamson Mix) 7:10
B2 Going South (Country Style) 4:35

Candyflip – Redhills Road (US Promo 12″)


A slice of early D.I.Y. House from Candyflip from 1991. Justin Strauss and Frank Heller tickle this for the US market creating a smooth House groove, the whispered vocals give it a Monkee’s feel to it on the “Just Right” mixes. The main mixes are slightly more ravey, adding some guitar effects. I like the bass change half way through.

The UK remixes are over here

Atlantic ‎– DMD 1670SAM_8804

A1 Redhills Road (Justin Strauss 12″ Mix) 7:01
A2 Redhills Road (Justin Strauss 12″ Dub) 6:00
B1 Redhills Road (Just Right 12″ Mix) 6:11
B2 Redhills Road (Just Right 12″ Dub) 6:51

Beck ‎– Where It’s At + Remixes (US Promo 12″)

Short but punchy remixes from this track from Beck’s “Odelay” album. Released at the height of sampling (’96) with cool, hip hop beats.

John King (from Dust Brothers) provides a menacing. sampled double bass. Mario G. Caldato Jr. and Mickey Petralia add scratches and jazz vibes.

Geffen Records ‎– PRO-A-4875SAM_7588

A1 Where It’s At (Edit) 3:43
A2 Where It’s At (John King Remix) 3:41
B1 Where It’s At (Mario C And Mickey P. Remix) 3:24
B2 Bonus Beats 4:09

White Zombie ‎– Electric Head Pt. 2 (The Ecstasy) (US Promo 12″)

Can never have too much White Zombie, especially if Charlie Clouser is remixing him.

From 1995 and a couple of mixes and an 2 tracks from the album…deep breath.. “Astro-Creep: 2000 (Songs Of Love, Destruction And Other Synthetic Delusions Of The Electric Head)”

You can see from the video’s how he got into Horror films

Rock and samples, prefer the stuff without the vocals (track 3) but heh ho!


Geffen Records ‎– PRO-A-4797elect

A1 Electric Head Pt. 2 [The Creature Feature 56 Mix] 4:55
A2 Electric Head Pt. 2 [LP Version] 3:53
B1 Electric Head Pt. 2 [The Ecstasy][Shut Up And Kill Mix] 4:55
B2 Electric Head Pt. 1 [The Agony][LP Version] 4:54

Danzig ‎– Sacrifice (US Promo 12″)

I’ve not been too rock / industrial on this stint in the 90’s so a few before we leave.

Obviously the tracks have had been altered by J. G. Thirwell (Mr. Foetus) who gives everything a bit of a Nine Inch Nail feel to them. Heavy electronics and guitars, you can’t go wrong !

The “Must” is more industrial stomp, no vocals. “Rust” is more of a regular single version with inclusion of guitars. “Crust” is quick, with live drums and feedback guitar, kicking off four minutes in.

The pick of the mixes is “Martyr” remixed by Joseph Bisara with tribal drums and plenty of shouty vocals.

Hollywood Records ‎– HR-66006-0 DJSAM_7528

A1 Sacrifice (Must Mix) 6:25
A2 Sacrifice (Rust Mix) 3:45
B1 Sacrifice (Crust Mix) 6:26
B2 Sacrifice (Martyr Mix) 6:17

Stereo MC’s ‎– Lost In Music (USA Mix) / Lost In Music (Ultimatum Mix) (US Promo 12″)

Loops and disco funk breaks from ’91 and it sees the Stereo MC’s at the top of their game. All produced and mixed by the band with the distinct stoner rap of Rob Birch over a bouncing bass.

Sampling “Mr. Magic” by Grover Washington Jr. from the mid 1970s, the Ultimatum has a louder bass.

A definite Party tune.

Who needs The Gorillaz ?

4th & Broadway ‎– PR12 544-1SAM_2403

A1 Lost In Music (USA Mix)
A2 Lost In Music (USA Instrumental)
B1 Lost In Music (Ultimatum Mix)
B2 Lost In Music (Ultimatum Instrumental)

Psykosonik ‎– Panik Kontrol (Remixes) (US Promo 12″)

From ’98 and the film “Mortal Kombat – Annihilation” is this hard house track featuring Wax Trax! band Psykosonik (well I tiny bit of them!)

I prefer the breaks and beats of the B-side mix, Prodigy-like

All remixed by Prince Quick (Manuel Napuri) so not quite like the versions up and about on Youtube.


TVT Soundtrax ‎– TVT 8215-OPSAM_0186

A Panik Kontrol (Prince Quick Mix’s Deephead Pass)
B Panik Kontrol (Prince Quick Mix’s Booted Bonus)

Joy Division ‎– Love Will Tear Us Apart : Joy Division 1995 (12″)

All versions of this classic from a ’95 re-release and to promote the Joy Division compilation “Permanent.” It included a new radio mix by Don Gehman that has some nice interplay of guitars towards the end.

Unusual is the inclusion of the Arthur Baker remix, slowing it down and adding more guitars, it’s almost a remake. A bit of a dog’s dinner ?

Still like a lot of their stuff highly collectible and rare and since been superseded by the re-issues over the last couple of years.


London Records ‎– YOJX 1joyed

A1 Love Will Tear Us Apart (Original Version) 3:27
A2 Love Will Tear Us Apart (Radio Version) 3:40
B1 Love Will Tear Us Apart (Arthur Baker Remix) 4:20
B2 Atmosphere (Original Hannett 12″) 4:11

Erasure – Ship Of Fools / Who Needs Love (Like That) (Promo 12″)

From 1990 and part of the Erasure Club releases from the time, The Orb (Alex Peterson & Thrash) and Fortran 5 get their hands on some Erasure classic songs. The Orb produce a splendid mix that doesn’t feel too long, stunning effects in the production.

Fortran 5 re-imagine their debut single, “Who Needs Love” already for the Ibiza clubs.

Mute ‎– ERAS 2SAM_3832 (1)

A Ship Of Fools (Orbital Southsea Isles Of Holy Beats Mix) 9:41
AA Who Needs Love (Like That) (Winnie Cooper Mix) 8:01