Various – Hot Tracks Box Set – CD 1

Shiny Disc Sunday ! (And most of the week it seems, must rip some vinyl)

Start of a Series featuring Razormaid’s rival Hot Tracks and CD’s from a box set I was sent a while back. (All ripped in FLAC)

The Box Set was released in 2008 and is worth an eyewatering 3 figure sum on Discogs. Useful for those DJ’s like me who like to play something different from the 80’s instead of those appalling modern re-edits.

Disc 1 seems to be heavy on the 70’s Disco.

Chris Cox extends and edits the Emotions classic from 1977. Very subtle. Cowbell and unnecessary traffic overdubs are included in the Patrick Cowley and  Bobby Viteritti mix, very synthy and a lot slower than I remember. A great version.!

Cox breathes a bit of new life into a forgotten Cher classic and Glenn Cattanach does a supreme job on Boogie Oogie Oogie suitably brightened up.

Too much additional on track 5, still a bit of a Banger !!

A classic Summer track with a bit of a sharper edge and the cheesy but obscure. The Paul Jabara track from 1976, a cheeky floor filler for any party!

The Stephanie Mills track is a bit harder but what vocals and that synth bass!! (Has some quirky over dubs)

The highlight is a Disco megamix , not too chopped up but an absolute blast. Not too cheesy for HiNRG.

FLAC (566 MB)

https://store1.gofile.io/download/direct/b3f03e7d-4d1d-4f69-9508-8d3092a38a84/Hot%20Trax%20CD1.zip

https://pixeldrain.com/u/5PqjBHkJ

1-1The EmotionsBest Of My Love6:23
1-2Lipps, Inc.Funkytown7:55
1-3CherTake Me Home7:49
1-4A Taste Of HoneyBoogie Oogie Oogie5:37
1-5France JoliA Heart To Break The Heart7:42
1-6Donna SummerHeaven Knows6:44
1-7Paul JabaraDance6:04
1-8VariousReign Of The Disco Queens (The 70’s HiNRG Medley)16:44
Bonus Track
1-9Stephanie MillsPilot Error6:56

10 thoughts on “Various – Hot Tracks Box Set – CD 1”

      1. It’s the least I can do! You guys share so many amazing rarities. I’m still a million times grateful for the Razormaid chapters you shared!

  1. In Flac, so it wasn’t from me. I’m still in stone ages of MP3s. Though I did finally unpack/hook-up my never-used new cheapo ION turntable (about 5 years old now, USB outputs) and venture a look in my treasure chest of vinyl. The kid asked me, “why do folks collect wax” and I just had to show him that it was an infliction that only half-took hold of me. Wish I never discovered cassettes, glad I missed most the 8-track craze.

    Thanks for the music whomever…. think I will enjoy more of it as it phases out of disco though. No I didn’t have a “Disco Sucks” shirt or attend a 1979 Anti-Disco baseball game.

  2. “Hot Tracks – Hot Classics Box Set” Mixed By – Stephen L. Freeman
    16:41 124-129 BPM
    (1978) Thank God It’s Friday – Love And Kisses
    (1978) Disco Queen – Paul Jabara
    (1979) Come On And Do It – Poussez!
    (1979) The Boss – Diana Ross
    (1978) Y.M.C.A. – Village People
    (1979) Relight My Fire – Dan Hartman
    (1979) Funkytown – Lipps, Inc.
    (1979) Harmony – Suzi Lane
    (1979) Gonna Get Along Without You Now – Viola Wills
    (1978) A Little Lovin’ (Keeps The Doctor Away) – The Raes
    (1977) I’ve Found Love (Now That I’ve Found You) – Love And Kisses
    (1979) Panic – French Kiss
    (1978) Love And Desire – Arpeggio
    (1979) Come To Me – France Joli
    (1978) Ain’t Nothing Gonna Keep Me From You – Teri DeSario
    (1978) Souvenirs – Voyage
    (1978) If My Friends Could See Me Now – Linda Clifford

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.