Various – Promo Only // Alternative Club January 06 (US Promo CD)

Saturday’s will be the Day Of The Silver Disc from now on. There is just too much good stuff not too share with you guys.

First up is this very interesting compilation of Indie and old 80’s Legacy bands.

Beck kicks of with his Alt.Country stomper, a track from his LP “Guero”. “Ghost Range (E-Pro)” with drums programmed by The Dust Brothers, given a soulful remix.

Aussie singer/writer Sia gets a Mylo remix on her string drenched track, “Breathe Me”, very chilled and emotional.

I’d forgotten this track by Royksopp, given The Thin White Duke treatment. Steady, punchy tic toc beat and the vocal from Sweden’s Karin Dreijer, who also wrote it.

Kirsty Hawkshaw (who was in Opus III) gets a smooth House remix from Solasso (the duo of Andrew Galea and Justin Scharvona) with a guitar hook and a dirty bass.

“Dare” gets a clunky remix by Chab (Swedish DJ/Producer Francois Chabloz. Dark beats and sequencers surround Shawn Ryder’s vocal snippets and the female vocals (Rosie Wilson) kick in. A great reinterpretation with even a bit of acid.

“I’ve Got A Life”, the last release from Eurythmics and a remix by David Guetta & Joachim Garraud , what could possibly go wrong ? Success, with Annie’s vocals helping with the long build up. The bass and beats kick butt.

Franz Ferdinand get Metronomy to remix , Simmons drums and a synth lead but the guitars are still here as well as the full vocals. Great remix.

Moonlife ? Turns out there a synthpop group. Their track is full on Euro Dance, modern Synthpop with all the melodies. The original track being from 2000.

Bill Hamel remixes New Order’s “Guilt Is A Useless Emotion”, the longest track on this comp. A classic New Order track from “Waiting For The Sirens’ Call” and a single that had a heap of mixes.

INXS get there Classic pumped up in a Progressive House style, full vocals. A great use of the Drop with piano to add to the drama.

The closing track from Howard Jones was from the album “Revolution of The Heart” , which I loved at the time. Auto tune is a bit overused on this DBA remix. Check the album out!

1BeckGhost Range (E-Pro) (Album Version)4:23
2SiaBreathe Me (Mylo Remix)6:19
3RoyksoppWhat Else Is There (Thin White Duke Mix)8:22
4Kirsty HirkshawReach For Me (Solasso Remix)6:50
5GorillazDare (Chab Remix)6:50
6EurythmicsI’ve Got A Life (David Guetta & Joachim Garraud Club)8:11
7Franz FerdinandDo You Want To (Metronomy Remix)4:10
8MoonlifeOver You (Euro House Mix)5:15
9New OrderGuilt Is A Useless Emotion (Bill Hamel Vocal Mix)8:37
10INXSNeed You Tonight (Koishii & Hush Remix)8:10
11Howard JonesJust Look At You Now (DBA Mix)7:34

One thought on “Various – Promo Only // Alternative Club January 06 (US Promo CD)”

  1. I love the song by Royksopp… I had a verson of this mix (it was a remix and a few seconds shorter)… I rarely care for newer music, probable because I am too impatient (ie. lazy) to wade through all the junk to find a good song. But occasionally one stands out… this is one that rises to the top in my book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.