Chas Jankel ‎– Questionnaire (US Vinyl LP)

Multi-instrumentalist and ex-Member of Ian Dury And The Blockheads released this funk LP back in 1981, it was called “Chasanova” in the UK and brings together the successful singles.

Produced with Peter Van-Hooke (who also programmed the Linn Drums) and Philip Bagenal.

It features Tina Weymouth’s sister on backing vocals, fellow Blockhead, Norman Watt-Roy on bass and Charley Charms on drums. Lyrics were written by Ian Dury.

One of the highlight tracks -“Magic Of Music,” gives a reggae vibe with guest bass by Japanese musician Kuma Harada (Snowy White) and guitar from Mick Jacques (Curved Air) with trumpet from Dick Cuthell (The Specials) and trombone Rico Rodriguez. (The Specials)

“Questionnaire” feels like it was made in the late 80’s, that’s how groundbreaking it sounds.


A1 109 3:53
A2 Johnny Funk 4:57
A3 Now You’re Dancing 3:39
A4 Magic Of Music 4:53
B1 Glad To Know You 6:35
B2 Boy 3:53
B3 Questionnaire 5:05
B4 3,000,000 Synths 6:27

2 thoughts on “Chas Jankel ‎– Questionnaire (US Vinyl LP)”

  1. The “Questionnaire” video was a BIG THING in 1981, but it took me well over 30 years to ever find a copy of this LP [US version with grey cover]. I still need to digitize it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.