Various ‎– Foreplay #34 Feat. Y.M.O., Split Enz, Hazel O’Connor (US Promo 12″)

Keeping the compilation theme here is a single-sided promo released on A&M’s Foreplay label in July 1980. It features a couple tracks each from Yello Magic Ochestra, Split Enz and Hazel O’Connor. A Hit plus a more obscure LP track.

The Y.M.O. tracks were from the LP’s “Public Pressure” and “Multiples” –  “Nice Age” sounds a bit like Roxy Music with Akiko Yano on joint lead vocals. “Rydeen” is the one most people would have heard, instrumental and funky.

Split Enz have their classic from the album “True Colours” slightly 60’s in style with synths lurking in the background. “Nobody…” prove the Finn’s were at the top of their game, I love the wonky synth solo!

I love Hazel O’Connor! “Writing On The Wall” was a single and I remember hearing all the weird synth sounds. Produced by Tony Visconti and only her 2nd Single. “Will You?” was another single from “Breaking Glass” with the signature sax from Wesley Magoogan, the greatest saxophone of the 80’s ??

A&M Records SP-17123 SAM_2781

A1 Yellow Magic Orchestra Nice Age
A2 Yellow Magic Orchestra Rydeen
A3 Split Enz I Got You
A4 Split Enz Nobody Takes Me Seriously
A5 Hazel O’Connor Writing On The Wall
A6 Hazel O’Connor Will You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.