Level 42 ‎– Running In The Family (Platinum Edition) (Mini Album)

level 42

So Mike B, being on the ball as always, sent this over after seeing a lot of Level 42 stuff going up and keeping with the commercial 80’s, mainstream theme going on at the moment. Cheers Bud!

Forgot about this mini remix album to milk the last remnants out of those 2 successful albums by gathering all the single remixes from them into one place, very convenient! Originally to boost sales of the CD version, it could be found included with the original “Running…” vinyl album or could be bought separately, so enjoy again but in a slightly different form (a bit like this blog I suppose!)

Shep Pettibone (the remixer of choice back then) fiddles with most of the tracks. “Something About You” is a bit over long as is “Lessons In Love”, “World Machine” is the pick of the bunch. The band remix the tear-filling “It’s Over” featuring prominent pedal steel guitar by B.J. Cole and Harmonica by Henry Falco, amazing stuff.  I still found Dave O’grin’s remix of “Running…” a bit weak and disappointing but that just my opinion.



Polydor ‎– POLHB 42plat

A1 Lessons In Love (Shep Pettibone Remix) 7:44
A2 Running In The Family (Dave ‘O’ Remix) 6:37
A3 It’s Over (Remix) 6:00
B1 Something About You (Shep Pettibone Remix) 8:03
B2 World Machine (Shep Pettibone Remix) 5:39

4 thoughts on “Level 42 ‎– Running In The Family (Platinum Edition) (Mini Album)”

  1. thank you! love this rare gem. didn’t know it existed. i only have the CD version with these tracks incorporated into the album. i agree about the Dave O Remix. do you have the 12″ with the superior “regular” extended version? thanks again. cheers from NYC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.