Bomb The Bass Feat. Justin Warfield ‎– Bug Powder Dust / Absorber (Promo 12″)


A rarity I ripped from vinyl a while back but not had a chance to share. From 1995 and with some well respected remixers, Kruder & Dorfmeister , Jedi Knights and The Chemical Brothers. Not sure there is much Mr. Warfield on these mixes, if any! So expect retro/electro by the Jedi Knights. Huge breaks on over the rap by The Chemical Brothers, when they were good. K & D go interplanetary on their dubby trip hop.

Stoned Heights ‎– 12BRW 324DJstoned

A1 Bug Powder Dust (Kruder & Dorfmeister Session Tm) 7:24
A2 Bug Powder Dust (Kruder & Dorfmeister Session Tm Instrumental) 6:22
A3 Bug Powder Dust (Chemical Brothers Mix) 7:01
B1 Absorber (Jedi Knights Mix Part I) 6:42
B2 Absorber (Jedi Knights Mix Part II) 3:23
B3 Absorber 5:35

Scritti Politti + Shabba Ranks ‎– She’s A Woman (12″)

A fine fusion of styles and some great guest remixers. From 1991 and with the distinct voice of Mr. Loverman versus the angelic vocals of Green Gartside. Apollo 440 lead off with a suitably HUGE, what a bassline and an excellent remix !! William Orbit adds his own magic to his remix, giving it an old fashioned reggae feel but added electronic squelches, superb. Shame that “Tautology Business Remix” fades out for no apparent reason, the mix being provided by Ian Craig Marsh and Martyn Ware of Heaven 17!

Virgin ‎– VST 1333woman

A1 She’s A Woman (The Apollo 440 Remix)
A2 She’s A Woman (Little Way Different 7″)
B1 She’s A Woman (The William Orbit Remix)
B2 She’s A Woman (Tautology Business Remix)

Dead Or Alive – Sex Drive (Aussie 12″)

Always far bigger in Asia and that part of the world, Dead Or Alive provide their own brand of Euro Dance. This came out in Australia in 1997, a whole 2 years after the Japan release. The closing track from the album “Nukleopatra” this had an Italian production crew behind it, Davide Rizzatti, Elvio Moratto, Riccardo Persi and the late Riccardo Testoni providing the beats and synths. The Groove Terminator, Simon Lewicki provides the better main mix whilst Peewee Ferris provides a longer mix of harder Tech-house, still prefer the Album version. As a bonus we get a modern remix of the classic “You Spin Me Round” remixed by a couple of Aussie producers , Anthony Hicks and James Ingram. Not three bad!


Dance Pool ‎– 663956 6 SAM_2953 (1)

A1 Sex Drive (Sugar Pumpers Extended Mix) 5:51
A2 Sex Drive (Album Version) 5:09
B1 Sex Drive (Peewee’s Extended Remix) 9:29
B2 You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) (Tyme Vs Hoops Mix) 6:44

Transvision Vamp ‎– (I Just Wanna) B With U (US Promo 12″)


wendy 2

Keeping the Girl Power Theme for this Bank Holiday and the penultimate release from Transvision Vamp (already on here but this has some mixes not on other releases) It isn’t a bad track , funky and very danceable, with suitably laid back vocals from Wendy James. Sunsonic do the main mix mixing the guitars with space effects  The last 3 mixes are done by Tony Garcia, sampling a few well known dance tracks here and there on the Dub and keeping the Indie Dance / Eastern flava groove pretty much there on all. For the Transvision Vamp completists!!!


Pics from cover she did for The Face in 1991.

And ,errr, the link (pulls up fly)


MCA Records ‎– L33-1523transv

A1 (I Just Wanna) B With U (Nighttripper Mix) 4:53
A2 (I Just Wanna) B With U (Alternative 12″ Mix) 6:02
B1 (I Just Wanna) B With U (Club Mix) 6:13
B2 (I Just Wanna) B With U (Dub Mix) 5:17

Jane Wiedlin ‎– World On Fire (US 12″)

A US only release from former Go-Go’s member, Jane Wiedlin. Synth pop with a soupcon of guitar, lively remixes from Justin Strauss with Daniel Abraham, with a slight hint of the B-52’s in the vocal delivery. Quite good sound for 1990 and nice quirky video too from Julien Temple. More jangley guitars are evident on the B-side, an album track “Flowers On The Battlefield” – pure Americana rock, with a great guitar solo.

“flames of love climbing up my pantyhose” indeed Jane, indeed.

EMI ‎– V-56179SAM_2134

A1 World On Fire (The Justin Strauss Remix)
A2 World On Fire (Power Mix)
B1 World On Fire (The Galaxy Mix)
B2 World On Fire (The Just Right Dub)
B3 Flowers On The Battlefield

Tina Turner ‎– Nutbush City Limits (The 90’s Version) (12″)

More mainstream, female led stuff now and this rarity from Tina Turner, an update on her classic from 1973. Remixed by poineering House DJ’s, C J Mackintosh and Dave Dorrell, this is quite faithful to the original adding a bit of housey piano over the track – the last track (’91) could be the same original version, maybe it’s re-recorded version? An added bonus is the Wedding Party classic “The Best” in all it’s Dan Hartman produced glory.


Capitol Records ‎– 12CL 630tina

A1 Nutbush City Limits (The 90’s Version) 3:42
A2 The Best (Edit) 4:08
B1 Nutbush City Limits (Nutbush City ’91) 6:00
B2 Nutbush City Limits (’91) 4:16

Joan Jett & The Blackhearts – Don’t Surrender (US Promo 12″)

A surprise inclusion into the current 90’s stuff. Better known for the school disco classic  “I Love Rock ‘N Roll”, doing the research for this they have quite a large back catalogue.

From 1991 and sticking to their rock roots but with added orchestra this could be descibed as a motivational rock song. From the album “Notorious” it has elements of Blondie with sound rock remix by Carl Segal



Epic ‎– ZAS-4256SAM_2185

A Don’t Surrender (Extended Mix) 6:42
B Don’t Surrender (The Most Excellent Mix) 4:04


River City People ‎– Walking On Ice (12″)

Some mature pop/rock from Liverpool quartet, River City People. From 1990 and a bit of a cracker if your into melody tinged rock with vocals from Siobhan Maher. The rest of the band included David Snell on bass and brothers Paul and Tim Speed on drums and guitar. Produced by Don Gehman who gave it an American style sheen.

This did not get the success it deserved, another band woefully overlooked in favour of the band Texas. The album it’s from “Say Something Good” is worth checking out. Backed by a couple of quality B-sides with the acoustic “Huskisson Street” and the rockier folk of “Black” (a bit of static noise but it was the best I could do)

EMI ‎– 12 EM 130walkingfrontcov

A – Walking On Ice (Extended Version) – 4:55

B1 – Black – 3:26

B2 – Huskisson Street (Revisited) –3:06