Various ‎– Ruby Trax – The NME’s Roaring Forty Vol 3 (Vinyl LP)


A very popular post and sorry about the delay in getting the last one up!!!

More of the same with another eclectic mix of 90’s artists putting their own spin on these classics. Some more serious that others!

I noticed that all proceeds go to the now re-named Scope (then the Spastic Society) I’ve gone and given a few quid as the original release was for that Charity.

Go on….(it’s worth it to hear Vic Reeve’s murder Ultravox’s “Vienna”!)

New Musical Express ‎– NME40LPsam_4991

E1 Jesus Jones Voodoo Chile
E2 Bob Geldof Sunny Afternoon
E3 Johnny Marr & Billy Duffy The Good, The Bad And The Ugly
E4 Cud Down Down
E5 The Fall Legend Of Xanadu
E6 Sinead O’Connor Secret Love
E7 World Party World Without Love
F1 Inspiral Carpets Tainted Love
F2 Elektric Music Baby Come Back
F3 Ride The Model
F4 Vic Reeves Vienna
F5 Tin Machine Go Now
F6 Curve I Feel Love
F7 Manic Street Preachers Suicide Is Painless

Various ‎– Ruby Trax – The NME’s Roaring Forty – Vol 2 (Vinyl LP)


Bet get this up on here with a slightly improved selection than Vol 1. Laugh as Carter USM take on Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick In The Wall”, double Take at Tears For Fears splendid cover of “Ashes To Ashes” , cringe at EMF’s version of “Shaddup You Face” (it’s nothing like the original) !!!!

New Musical Express ‎– NME40LP


C1 Carter USM Another Brick In The Wall
C2 Blur Maggie May
C3 Tears For Fears Ashes To Ashes
C4 The House Of Love Rock Your Baby
C5 The Frank And Walters I’m A Believer
C6 EMF Shaddap You Face
C7 Suede Brass In Pocket
D1 Tori Amos Ring My Bell
D2 Kingmaker Lady Madonna
D3 Marc Almond Like A Prayer
D4 The Farm Don’t You Want Me?
D5 Ned’s Atomic Dustbin I’ve Never Been To Me
D6 Boy George My Sweet Lord

Various ‎– Ruby Trax – The NME’s Roaring Forty (Vinyl LP)


So Part 1 of a vinyl package that Mike has shared with us that I’ve got to admit I’m a little envious of. I always have a fondness for a good cover version, a reinterpretation of a well known tune and have even put nights on of just covers.

From 1992 and this see’s the then current (and mostly) Indie bands have a crack at some famous songs. Commissioned by music mag, N.M.E. it came in a sumptuous package in three volumes covering 40 songs. Here is part 1, all are listenable and all seem to be having a great time putting their own sound to the original. I’ve got waiting Part 2 and 3 so stay tuned.

Be back Sunday Night!

New Musical Express ‎– NME40LPsam_4920

Ruby Trax Part 1
A1 The Wonder Stuff Coz I Luv You
A2 Billy Bragg When Will I See You Again?
A3 The Jesus And Mary Chain Little Red Rooster
A4 The Mission Atomic
A5 The Fatima Mansions (Everything I Do) I Do It For You
A6 St Etienne Stranger In Paradise
B1 The Wedding Present Cumberland Gap
B2 Aztec Camera / Andy Fairweather-Low (If Paradise Is) Half As Nice
B3 Dannii Minogue Show You The Way To Go
B4 Welfare Heroine Where Do You Go To My Lovely?
B5 The Blue Aeroplanes Bad Moon Rising
B6 Senseless Things Apache
B7 Teenage Fanclub Mr Tambourine Man

Big White Stairs – EP No. 1 (10″)


I think I’ll market this as Brit Pop. A bit of cult Indie band who delve deep into psychedelic rock with plenty of swirly organ. From the North West and released on their own label, Periscope Records, this was released in 1993. The band were from  Macclesfield and comprised of Steve Young (vocals), Andy Young (guitar), Alan Lee (bass), Stephen Malkin (keyboards), Alan Lee (bass), Dayle Halman (drums) The lead track, “Let’s Make This Home” plays like early Blur. “Under The Fir” sounds like Suede recorded in a Anderson Shelter.  “The Numbers” is quite progy with some synth bleeps. The grand finale is “Screaming” which completes the laidback vibe and is the best produced of the bunch. The effected vocals grow a bit tedious after a while.

Periscope Records ‎– PERIV120170202_214314-1.jpg

A1 Let’s Make This Home
A2 Under The Fir
B1 The Numbers
B2 Screaming

The Almighty – Out Of Season (12″)

From 1993 and this scared the shit out of me! Scottish Grunge/Metal from Glasgow. Picked this up the other day and it was signed as well! As if I ever sell my vinyl.

Love the fact that I can follow this after the M People!

The main track covers all the bases, for any fans of Guns And Roses style rock.

The B-side contains the thrash punk of “Insomnia” An early demo from 1989 sounding like good old American Hair Rock. The final track was the title track of their first album, more melodic/epic rock, with orchestra backing from the John Williams production, quite like it!

Polydor ‎– PZ 266outoffrontcov

A Out Of Season (Album Version)
B1 Insomnia
B2 Wild And Wonderful (Demo Version)
B3 Blood, Fire And Love


Pet Shop Boys – DJ Culture / Music For Boys (LTD Promo & Remix 12″)

From 1991 and still sounding fresh today. The very prolific PSB’s and a lesser known hit which was on their “Discography” album and given a club edge by Brothers In Rhythm on top of Stephen Hague’s lush,orchestrated production. It’s all quite chilled and classy and concerns the insincerity of President George H. W. Bush’s speeches at the time of the First Gulf War, nicking a lot Winston Churchill’s wartime rhetoric. “Music For Boys” uses an old house riff and has not aged as well. housey -rave and cheesy crowd cheers. The definite “Part 2” is heaps better.


EMI USA ‎– V-56234pet

A1 DJ Culture (Extended Mix) 6:51
A2 DJ Culture (Short Version) 4:12
B1 Music For Boys 3:43
B2 Music For Boys (Part 2) 6:10

Also here is the Remix 12″ with another version of “Music For Boys” (remixed by the dust mask wearing Altern 8!) and the main track being remixed by contemporaries The Grid, a funkier remix with some lush synth. The gem of the bunch is the “Overture”, who never doubted that PSB where classy.


Parlophone ‎– 12RX 6301djculture

A DJ Culturemix 5:46
B1 Music For Boys (Part 3) 5:34
B2 Overture To Performance 6:15