Neil Arthur – 2 X Twelve Inches

Teamwork is always better than trying to follow a lone path. This blog has a total of 1,515 posts, it’s a bit of a beast to maintain.

So I’d thought I’d team up with Mike and add my contribution to this 1992 post by Neil Arthur (the singer from Blancmange, he embarked on a short lived solo career consisting of an album and a couple of single releases during the early 90’s)

Neil Arthur – One Day, One Time (12″)

His debut release and you can hear the Eastern musical influences of Blancmange. Synths, horns and a catchy chorus. It includes backing vocals of Tracy Ackerman ( a successful singer / songwriter in her own right). Marius De Vries on programming, David Rhodes on guitar, Graham Henderson on keyboards and Pascal Benadjaoud on Conga’s. The 12″ includes a variety of “Dance” mixes by Phil Bodger, revealing more nice synth work. The “Nil By Mouth” mix (the title of the latest Blancmange album) is an instrumental (like the latest Blancmange album)

I’d love to find the CD single, with two additional B-sides, “Laughing In the Rain” and “Going Round In Triangles” (I’m going to cheat and get it off discogs!!)

http://www53.zippyshare.com/v/PkMHhGxj/file.html

Chrysalis ‎– 12CHS 3909SAM_0273

A1 One Day, One Time (Bone O’ Fido Mix)
A2 One Day, One Time (Nil By Mouth Mix)
B1 One Day, One Time (Rome Wasn’t Built … Mix)
B2 One Day, One Time (7″ Mix)

 

Neil Arthur – I Love I Hate (12″)

In 1994 Neil released this to help promote the album “Suitcase”. All dramatic strings and a definite nod to The Beatles via Abba. With De Vries back on programming and Dom T on remix duty, providing a bit of driving Techno on his “2:45.. Nuttall Street” mix. Of interest to me back then was the mixes by The Grid, (Dave Ball, one half of synth duo Soft Cell) helped by Andy Todd (Republica) The “Excalibur Mix” is the preferred mix, picked up by DJ’s (Sasha) this was a bit of a club smash at the time. I’m liking the more chilled “Lakeside Mix.”

http://www74.zippyshare.com/v/qVbUD9GQ/file.html

Chrysalis ‎– 12CHS 5005lovehatecov

A1 I Love I Hate (Excalibur Mix)
A2 I Love I Hate (Lakeside Mix)
B1 I Love I Hate (2.45… Nuttall Street Mix)
B2 I Love I Hate (7″ Edit)
Leave a Reply

Discosnob

Disco Not Disco Extended Guilty Pleasures

Post-Punk Monk

Searching for divinity in records from '78-'85 or so…

All the Air In My Lungs

Vinyl recordings from the 80's & 90's

Thirty Three And A Third

Vinyl Records stole my heart

Ad's Vinyl Adventures

A music blog devoted solely to records (and maybe a few other things as well)

A History of Dubious Taste

A confessional trawl through my record buying history...where there's no such thing as a Guilty Pleasure

OffTheBeat(EN)Trax

music from underneath the floorboards

That's The Ticket

Live, Not Memorex

Y-KEY OPERATORS

The home of all Y-Key Operators news and gigs

Jumping Someone Else's Song

Cover Versions Abound

One Step Brighter

It Just Won't Go Away!

Music 4 Life

a venture into the amazing world of the eighties

eightiesvinyl

Rare 12" Singles For 80's Music Lovers Around The World

Off The Beat(en) Trax

MUSIC FROM UNDERNEATH THE FLOORBOARDS

Turn On Your Record Player

Vinyl recordings from the 80's & 90's

Methods Of Dance

USE MENTAL FLOSS TO FIGHT TRUTH DECAY

ACID TED

A dance music blog - classic and current

