The Electric Eels – Not In Love (With The Modern World) (10″)

An obscure release on 10 inch from 1980. Nothing to do with the American band of the same name but this band comprised of members of The Warm Jets and Cockney Rebel. Paul  Jeffreys on bass, (as Methane Wernick) Paul Ballance on vocals,  (as Pablo Hallam) Maciej Hrybowicz on guitar, (as Red Leader) Milton Reame-James on keyboards (as Mad Molecule) and Dave Cairns on drums. (as Stigs McGregor) A three tracker that screams New Wave with quirky synth noises and angular guitars, very Roxy Music in places. “Not In Love” could be Bill Nelson’s Red Noise. “Double Complications” is more rockier but slips in and out of reggae.”Jellied Reggae” is a bouncy, Ska inspired instrumental.

Slippery Discs ‎– XPRES3410electricfrontcov

A1 Not In Love (With The Modern World)
A2 Double Complications
B Jellied Reggae

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.