Chris & Cosey – Take 5 E.P. (Canadian 12″)

So a nice rare 12″ from Mike from ex-Throbbing Gristle members Chris Carter and Cosey Fanni Tutti. Released to promote them in Canada and comprising of 5 tracks from their output between 1983-1986, it’s sexy synth pop with fetish overtones and it all depends if you like Cosey’s breathy vocals, very Marmite.

Beginning with minor underground hit, “October Love Song” Next we have the instrumental track , “Relay” , with heavy use of samples. The funky bass “Smell The Roses”contrasts with dreaming vocals (not quite in tune), almost a shoegaze feel to it. “Love Cuts” is a remix of an old track, with repetitive vocals, squelchy synths and a seedy Soft Cell theme. A bit of pagan incantation closes the mini-album with the slow, Gothica  of “Send The Magick Down.”

Nettwerk ‎– NTM-6302take5cov

A1 October Love Song (Remixed)
A2 Relay
A3 Smell The Roses
B1 Love Cuts (Remixed)
B2 Send The Magick Down


Lana Pellay – Pistol In My Pocket (US 12″)

From 1986 and somewhere between Dead Or Alive and Divine is this camp slice of High Energy that was new to me. Built on the “I Feel Love” synth bass-line it certainly hasn’t aged that well but a certain must listen to 80’s Cheese-meisters. Phil Harding and Rob Waldron give it the PWL treatment with Three Degree’s singer Sheila Ferguson on backing vocals.The preferred mix is the “Dirty Harry Version” which attempts to toughen things up (!?) Camp as a row of tents!

TSR Records ‎– TSR 846 lanacov

English Side
A1 Pistol In My Pocket (Original Version) 6:14
A2 Pistol In My Pocket (Dirty Harry Version) 7:38
American Side
B1 Pistol In My Pocket (Bob Miro Remix) 7:38
B2 Pistol In My Pocket (A Razormaid Remix) 5:46

Missing Persons ‎– I Can’t Think About Dancin’ (US 12″)

A couple from Mike involving female lead vocals and plenty of 80’s hair guitar! From 1986 is this track from L.A.’s Missing Persons. Produced by Bernard Edwards (Chic) and mixed by Steve Thompson & Michael Barbiero who seemed to have a hand in nearly all the US 12’s on here!  New Wave shapes are thrown on the B-side “Face To Face”, a very strong that is even better than the A-side.

Capitol Records ‎– V-15233

A1 I Can’t Think About Dancin’ (Extended Version) 5:47
A2 I Can’t Think About Dancin’ (Single Version) 4:18
B1 I Can’t Think About Dancin’ (Dub Version) 5:14
B2 Face To Face 3:32