Topper Headon – I’ll Give Everything (12″)

toppertop

So a small, brief series of artists from Big 80’s bands going solo after the band had disappeared or taking  “time out” from the band. 7 times out of 10 they end up sounding exactly like the band they were from with just a few exceptions.

First up is ex-drummer from The Clash, Topper Headon. He has featured on my blog a while back with the big band sounding “Drumming Man” from 1985. This later release from 1986, provided by Mike, see’s him go more commercial.

So a funk offering is served up , Jools Holland would love it! With a host of well respected session musicians. On soulful lead vocals is Jimmy Helms (who went on to form Londonbeat) Guitar was Bobby Tench, (Humble Pie, Streetwalkers) and keyboards Micky Gallagher (Ian Dury & The Blockheads) Produced by Jeremy Green. The Dub Mix is quality if you’re just after some instrumental funk, modern Northern Soul.

“You’re So Cheeky” is a soulful B-side, coming on like The Miracles “Like A Love Machine,” with Topper on vocals and drums. Produced by Jimmy Helms and Jerome Rimson

http://www63.zippyshare.com/v/o3UJb3Z4/file.html

Mercury ‎– MERX 213toppercov

A1 I’ll Give You Everything (7″ Mix)
A2 I’ll Give You Everything (Dub Mix)
B1 I’ll Give You Everything (Dance Mix)
B2 You’re So Cheeky
8 responses

  1. This is my win of the year!!! I always loved this song as on of my top 50 songs of the 80s, but I didn´t know that there was a 12inch. Thank you very, very much, for Gill and Hutchence, too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1. More than welcome, I aim to please 😉

      1. Andreas Kötter

        Are there any 12inches (except the ones on the cd-version) of Bruce Foxton’s “Touch Sensitive” album from 1984? If, I would love to see them here! The same with some I-Level, 400 Blows, Haircut 100’s second album, Funkapolitan, Black Britain, Head, late Danse Society, Redskins, Floy Joy…12inches….but, of course, once again, thank you very much for all this huge effort!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      2. Will put them on my shopping list 🙂 Some good suggestions there!

  2. Unreservedly agree with Andreas up there! Swell picks, sir.

  3. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out.

    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and wonderful design and style.

  4. Short question: is there a “donate”-function somewhere on this? it’s such a great site but of course huge amount of work that I would like to make a donation as kind of appreciation, even if it would be only a small one, because I’m no zillionaire ;-); of course. Best, Andreas

    1. Cheers for the kindness. As I’ve never made a penny from this blog (apart from kind words) I don’t think I’ll start asking for donations although I must have spent over £100 on vinyl over the last few weeks and I’m no billionaire either! Just keep sending the love 🙂

Leave a Reply

Phil's Musings

Guitars, Electronics, Photography, Football, Arduino etc.

Discosnob

Disco Not Disco Extended Guilty Pleasures

Post-Punk Monk

Searching for divinity in records from '78-'85 or so…

All the Air In My Lungs

Vinyl recordings from the 80's & 90's

Thirty Three And A Third

Vinyl Records stole my heart

Ad's Vinyl Adventures

A music blog devoted solely to records (and maybe a few other things as well)

A History of Dubious Taste

A confessional trawl through my record buying history...where there's no such thing as a Guilty Pleasure

A Goldfish Called Regret

Past present future perfect - and music too

OffTheBeat(EN)Trax

music from underneath the floorboards

That's The Ticket

Live, Not Memorex

Y-KEY OPERATORS

The home of all Y-Key Operators news and gigs

Jumping Someone Else's Song

Cover Versions Abound

One Step Brighter

It Just Won't Go Away!

Music 4 Life

a venture into the amazing world of the eighties

eightiesvinyl

Rare 12" Singles For 80's Music Lovers Around The World

Off The Beat(en) Trax

MUSIC FROM UNDERNEATH THE FLOORBOARDS

Turn On Your Record Player

Vinyl recordings from the 80's & 90's

Methods Of Dance

USE MENTAL FLOSS TO FIGHT TRUTH DECAY

