Brilliant ‎– It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World (12″)

Okay, Birthday did get in the way of postings! So where was I ?

When Stock, Aiken & Waterman were inventive and less formulaic this Band has the surprising line up of Youth (Ex-Killing Joke), Jim Cauty before KLF and the amazing voice of June Montana. So we get a dub reggae cover of the James Brown classic which is quite Scritti Politti in style. Andy Stennant (Ex Freeez) provides extra keyboards and Annie Whitehead (Penguin Cafe Orchestra, Kick Horns) provides some Trombone-ige. The opening track is a slice of electro funk instrumental called “Crash The Car” with some very old car crash samples you’ll recognize, a homage to Art Of Noise but with added metal guitar .  A very young Mad Professor even remixes the final Dub mix, how deep was that bass for 1985!!!

NEW LINK 2017 !!! (Again) (Again!!)

http://www94.zippyshare.com/v/KXlktwfy/file.html

Food ‎– FOOD 5Tbrillcov

Crash The Car (Multiple Pile-Up Mix) 5:32
It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World (7″ Version) 3:38
It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World (Extended Mix) 6:03
It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World (It’s A Dub Dub Dub World) 4:45
14 responses

  1. an intersection never crossed through by any concerned again. What a great and fresh sound it was back in the day. First heard Youth’s post Killing Joke band on the Post Punk Funk workout Colours in 82. Back then they had more of an aggressive ACR style, but Youth was obviously caught by the dance rhythms bug.

  2. Brilliant post, indeed. I also enjoyed the rip of Alf/Patti Austin’s “Honey for the Bees” and more than a little templating of MJ’s “Thriller” on the follow-up “Somebody”. Would love to see posts of their other stuff should you come across it!

  3. George Michael said at the time she was his favourite singer

  4. Hi
    I used to have this twelve-inch and loved it. Any chance of a revived link. Floy Joy and now this… wonderful! Many thanks in drooling anticipation.

    1. Revived like a Goldfish in a toilet bowl!

  5. Lovely! Thank you so much. What treasures you provide. Have you heard of R2 magazine? Next issue (May/June, out in a couple of weeks), it’ll be retitled RNR. Bi-monthly, featuring folk, roots, rock, world, blues, singer-songwriter and country stuff and with free cover CD. There’s a half-page Godfathers piece in the imminent issue. (I work for the magazine as a freelance editor.)

    1. I’ll check it out! Cheers 🙂

  6. Hi

    I just attempted to download the Brilliant files on my old laptop (used previously for Floy Joy files without any problems). This time I got an ‘alert ‘ advising me to update Flash in order for me to proceed. I ‘Force Quitted’ my browser just to be safe, and because I was unable to proceed otherwise without clicking on the purported Flash button (something I was definitely NOT going to do), and then checked my installed Flash software. No updates needed. Hmmm.

    However, as it is an old Mac and OS that I routinely use at my desk, I tried a recent MacBook Air and redid the download thing. This time I successfully downloaded the Brilliant files but again I got an alert advising me to download Flash, and, of course, the option to do it there and then. (This time I wasn’t ‘locked in’ to the Flash request, however.) According to my installed Flash software, again, there is no update available or required.

    Is it possible that the download site you are using has been compromised? I’m a little wary about opening the Zip file now.

    1. Bloody Zippyshare are being shit at the moment. Really sorry about it, not compromised but a bit pop-up heaven. I’ll will be searching for a new file sharer very soon. 😦

  7. Okay, that’s a relief. I forgot about pop-ups in my paranoid state. Sorry to be so melodramatic.

    Let me know if you’d like a copy of the magazine (and how to get it to you) and when it’s available I can send.

    1. Cheers. See the new post! I thought it was just me 🙂 Drop me a line when it’s available.

  8. Will do. Good luck with finding an alternative to Zippyshare.

  9. Hi,
    Can you re-up this please?
    Thanks
    Mark

Leave a Reply

Phil's Musings

Guitars, Electronics, Photography, Football, Arduino etc.

Discosnob

Disco Not Disco Extended Guilty Pleasures

Post-Punk Monk

Searching for divinity in records from '78-'85 or so…

All the Air In My Lungs

Vinyl recordings from the 80's & 90's

Thirty Three And A Third

Vinyl Records stole my heart

Ad's Vinyl Adventures

A music blog devoted solely to records (and maybe a few other things as well)

A History of Dubious Taste

A confessional trawl through my record buying history...where there's no such thing as a Guilty Pleasure

A Goldfish Called Regret

Past present future perfect - and music too

OffTheBeat(EN)Trax

music from underneath the floorboards

That's The Ticket

Live, Not Memorex

Y-KEY OPERATORS

The home of all Y-Key Operators news and gigs

Jumping Someone Else's Song

Cover Versions Abound

One Step Brighter

It Just Won't Go Away!

Music 4 Life

a venture into the amazing world of the eighties

eightiesvinyl

Rare 12" Singles For 80's Music Lovers Around The World

Off The Beat(en) Trax

MUSIC FROM UNDERNEATH THE FLOORBOARDS

Turn On Your Record Player

Vinyl recordings from the 80's & 90's

Methods Of Dance

USE MENTAL FLOSS TO FIGHT TRUTH DECAY

