The The – Infected (12″)

The normal twelve with the normal sleeve (!) and a pioneering track. Matt Johnson’s “Infected” album from which this was taken was unique, it had a video for all of the tracks, mixed technology with intelligent song writing and if released now would walk away with the Mercury Music Prize. The video for this was shot in Bolivia and directed by Throbbing Gristle / Phsychic Youth / Coil / Threshold’s, Peter ‘Sleazy’ Christopherson. So with the song it’s all about the pumping bass!  Released at a time when AIDS was very much in the news, the line “Infect me with your love ” didn’t seem like such a good idea at the time. Produced with Warne Livesey it featured Tessa Niles and Zeke Manyika (Ex Orange Juice) on backing vocals. Again David Palmer does the drums with Dan Brown enhancing that bass-line. Jazz trumpet player, Guy Barker, gives us that distinctive solo. Interestingly, Roli Mosimann (Ex Swans) mixes the short “Energy” mix which has a definite bit of sub-bass! Whilst “Disturbed” is a suitably experimental and dark studio muck about, using the drum patterns from “Infected” and treated bass (whale noises)



Some Bizarre TRUTH T3thethecov

A Infected 6:10
B1 Infected (Energy Mix) 3:25
B2 Disturbed 2:25

3 responses

  1. Love this one, damn the link is gone 😦 Would be great if you can upload it again, please. Your site is sp megacool with awesome stuff!!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Left and Leaving

an alternative travel blog

Phil's Musings

Guitars, Electronics, Photography, Football, Arduino etc.


Disco Not Disco Extended Guilty Pleasures

Post-Punk Monk

Searching for divinity in records from '78-'85 or so…

All the Air In My Lungs

Vinyl recordings from the 80's & 90's

Thirty Three And A Third

Vinyl Records stole my heart

Ad's Vinyl Adventures

A music blog devoted solely to records (and maybe a few other things as well)

A History of Dubious Taste

A confessional trawl through my record buying history...where there's no such thing as a Guilty Pleasure

A Goldfish Called Regret

Past present future perfect - and music too


music from underneath the floorboards

That's The Ticket

Live, Not Memorex


The home of all Y-Key Operators news and gigs

Jumping Someone Else's Song

Cover Versions Abound

One Step Brighter

It Just Won't Go Away!

Music 4 Life

a venture into the amazing world of the eighties


Rare 12" Singles For 80's Music Lovers Around The World

Off The Beat(en) Trax


Turn On Your Record Player

Vinyl recordings from the 80's & 90's

Methods Of Dance


%d bloggers like this: